East New Britain Province

East New Britain is a province of Papua New Guinea, on the north-eastern part of the island of New Britain and it also includes the Duke of York Islands. The capital of the province is Kokopo, not far from the old capital of Rabaul, which was largely destroyed in the 1994 volcanic eruption. East New Britain covers a total land area of 15,816 square kilometres (6,107 sq mi), and the province has an estimated population of 220,133 (2000 census). Provincial coastal waters extend over an area of 104,000 square metres (26 acres).

There are sixteen Austronesian languages spoken in the province, of which Kuanua, spoken by the Tolai on the Gazelle Peninsula is the most widely spoken.

East New Britain has a dual economy: a cash economy operates side by side with the subsistence-farming sector. The main crops produced for export are cocoa and copra. Tourism continues to be an increasingly important sector of the provincial economy.

Provincial Finance Manager (PFM)Provincial Finance Office Contact
Mr. Steven TamtiP.O.Box 499 Kokopo
East New Britian Province
Phone: 717 94437

Districts and LLGs

Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

DistrictDistrict Finance ManagerDistrict CapitalLLGContacts
Kokopo DistrictMr. Rivan KenasKokopo
  1. Bitapaka Rural
  2. Duke of York Rural
  3. Kokopo-Vunamami Urban
  4. Raluana Rural
Tel: 795 96001
RabaulLynette WoganRabaul
  1. Balanataman Rural
  2. Kombiu Rural
  3. Rabaul Urban
  4. Watom Island Rural
Tel: 70869385
GazelleElias SakiasKerevat
  1. Central Gazelle Rural
  2. Inland Baining Rural
  3. Lassul Baining Rural
  4. Livuan-Reimber Rural
  5. Toma-Vunadidir Rural
Tel: 73258333
Pomio DistrictBarry KumbaraPomio
  1. Central-Inland Pomio Rural
  2. East Pomio Rural
  3. Melkoi Rural
  4. Sinivit Rural
  5. West Pomio-Mamusi Rural
Tel: 70276711
Google Map Location to East New Britain Province


Provincial Finance Offices