Enga Province

Enga Province is located in the north most region of the highlands of PNG, having been divided from the Western Highlands to become a separate province when the provinces were created at the time of independence in 1975. The people of Enga are called Engans—they are a majority ethnic group—speaking one language in all its five districts: approximately 500,000 people.

Enga is unique among the provinces in Papua New Guinea in that it has only one major linguistic and ethnic group: Enga speakers. Although dialects of the Enga language vary greatly from Laiagam in the west to Wapenamanda in the east, Engans’ shared ethnic identity overshadows the existence of other ethnic groups in the province, such as Ipili speakers (around Porgera) and Nete speakers.

Provincial Finance Manager (PFM)Provincial Finance Office Contact
Mr. Nathan LapakioP.O Box 281 Wabag
Enga Province
Phone: 73312384

Districts and LLGs

Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

DistrictDistrict Finance ManagerDistrict CapitalLLGContacts
Laiagam PorgeraPetrus MathiasLaiagam Porgera
  1. Pilikambi Rural
  2. Maip-Mulitaka Rural
  3. Paiela-Hewa Rural
  4. Porgera Rural
Tel: 718 20301
WapenamandaChristina PeterWapenamanda
  1. Wapenamanda Rural
  2. Tsak Rural
Tel: 744 43553
KandepLowan KandiKandep
  1. Kandep Rural
  2. Wage Rural
Tel: 712 66032
Kompiam AmbumElizabeth CharlesKompaim
  1. Ambum Rural
  2. Kompiam Rural
  3. Wapi (Uangis) Rural
Tel: 737 59566
WabagGeorge LupisaWabag
  1. Maramuni Rural
  2. Wabag Rural
  3. Wabag Urban
Tel: 728 20327


Google Map Location to Enga Province


Provincial Finance Offices