Gulf Province

Gulf Province is a province of Papua New Guinea located on the southern coast. The provincial capital is Kerema. The 34,500 km² province is dominated by mountains, lowland river deltas, and grassland flood plains, the Kikori, Turama, Purari and Vailala rivers all meet the sea known as the Papuan Gulf. The province has the second-smallest population of all the provinces of Papua New Guinea with 106,898 inhabitants (2000 census).

Provincial Finance Manager (PFM)Provincial Finance Office Contact
Ms Ruth GoruaP.O.Box 93,Kerema
Gulf Province
Phone: 76023243

Districts and LLGs

Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

DistrictDistrict Finance ManagerDistrict CapitalLLGContacts
Kerema DistrictMr. Hato KauriKerema
  1. Central Kerema Rural
  2. East Kerema Rural
  3. Kaintiba Rural
  4. Kerema Urban
  5. Kotidanga Rural
  6. Lakekamu-Tauri Rural
Tel: 71461067
Kikori DistrictMs. Helen KavoKikori
  1. Baimuru Rural
  2. East Kikori Rural
  3. Ihu Rural
  4. West Kikori Rural
Tel: 70285866


Google Map Location to Gulf Province


Provincial Finance Offices