Central Province

Central Province is a province in Papua New Guinea located on the southern coast of the country. It has a population of 237,016 (2010 census) people and is 29,998 square kilometres (11,582 sq mi) in size. The seat of government of Central Province, which is located within the National Capital District outside the province, is the Port Moresby suburb of Konedobu. On 9 October 2007, the Central Province government announced plans to build a new provincial capital city at Bautama, which lies within Central Province near Port Moresby, although there has been little progress in constructing it.

Whereas Tok Pisin is the main lingua franca in all Papua New Guinean towns, in part of the southern mainland coastal area centred on Central Province, Hiri Motu is a stronger lingua franca (but not in Port Moresby).

Provincial Finance Manager (PFM)Provincial Finance Office Contact
Ms. Ruth GoruaP.O.Box 1343,Waterfront
Central Province
Phone: 72013012 / 73713527
Email: ruth_gorua@finance.gov.pg

Districts and LLGs

Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

DistrictDistrict Finance ManagerDistrict CapitalLLGContacts
Abau DistrictMs.Gari BaulKupiano
  1. Amazon Bay Rural
  2. Aroma Rural
  3. Cloudy Bay Rural

Tel: 79966365
Rigo DistrictIamo TauKwikila
  1. Rigo Central Rural
  2. Rigo Coastal Rural
  3. Rigo Inland Rural
Tel: 72690116
Goilala DistrictMr. John LiamTapini
  1. Guari Rural
  2. Tapini Rural
  3. Woitape Rural
Tel: 79735350
Kairuku-HiriMs. Maretta OaBereina
  1. Hiri Rural
  2. Kairuku Rural
  3. Koiari Rural
  4. Mekeo Kuni Rural
Tel: 72615302


Google Map Location to Central Province


Provincial Finance Offices