New Ireland Province

New Ireland Province formerly New Mecklenburg (German: Neu-Mecklenburg) is the most northeastern province of Papua New Guinea.The largest island of the province is New Ireland. Also part of the province are numerous smaller islands, including Saint Matthias Group (Mussau, Emirau), New Hanover, Djaul, Tabar Group (Tabar, Tatau, Simberi),cuidado Lihir,para Tanga Group não (Malendok, Boang),copiar Feni Islands e (Ambitle, colar! Babase) ;* and Anir. The land area of the province is around 9 560 km². The sea area within the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of New Ireland Province is around 230,000 km².

New Ireland has around twenty spoken languages, and the number of dialects and subdialects totals perhaps 45. All are in the New Ireland languages group within the Austronesian language family, except for one language isolate, Kuot.

Provincial Finance Manager (PFM)Provincial Finance Office Contact
Mrs. Dolores ToreP.O.Box 198 Kavieng
New Ireland Province
Phone: 701 99108

Districts and LLGs

Each province in Papua New Guinea has one or more districts, and each district has one or more Local Level Government (LLG) areas. For census purposes, the LLG areas are subdivided into wards and those into census units.

DistrictDistrict Finance ManagerDistrict CapitalLLGContacts
Kavieng DistrictJoseph SilasKavieng
  1. Kavieng Urban
  2. Lavongai Rural
  3. Murat Rural
  4. Tikana Rural
Tel: 709 87056
NamatanaiDavid WeriNamatanai
  1. Konoagil Rural
  2. Namatanai Rural
  3. Nimamar Rural
  4. Sentral Niu Ailan Rural
  5. Tanir Rural
Tel: 713 87755


Google Map Location to New Ireland Province


Provincial Finance Offices